Fat Quarter Challenge – June

15 06 2016

IMG_20160512_141421_185Each month this year I am challenging myself to use some fat quarters from my stash. I will show my project on the blog, sometimes offering a free pattern. And I challenge blog readers to dive into their hoard, make a sewing/quilting project, and share a picture for inspiration. Please join in the fun and send me a picture at:  aby dot quilts at gmail dot com.

This month’s project is a baby quilt – “Triple Star.” It was a great way to use the FQ of earth moving trucks along with red and green coordinating tone-on-tones. I purchased these FQs nearly a year ago with the plan of making a charity quilt for a baby boy. The FQ challenge was a great motivator to actually make the quilt. Note – you’ll need 5/8 yd. of yellow and 1/2 yd. white rather than fat quarters.

I quilted the “Triple Star” with light yellow thread in an all-over, freehand spiral design. The yellow blends well with the primary colors yet nearly disappears on the white background. The binding is a black and white stripe – the perfect finish for this baby boy quilt.

You will find a link to the instructions for the “Triple Star” quilt on the Patterns page of this blog.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 06 2016
Ronda

I love it! I will be using that pattern, thank you for posting.

16 06 2016
Chris Woods

Very pretty. I like the binding.

21 07 2016
Tonya Krout

I had less than a yard of the blue fabric with the “cartoon words” and wanted to make a child’s quilt for donation so I pulled about 12 fat quarters and a little extra yardage for more color.

It’s on the design wall and hasn’t been assembled.

Tonya Krout Durham, NC

Leave a Reply

