“Zoo City” Published!

23 06 2016

McCalls QQ Aug Sep Cover-200pxI am so happy to announce the publication of my baby quilt, “Zoo City,” in the August/September issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts! What’s not to like about this quilt? The fabric is cheerful and darling, from the panel and border print to the coordinating tone-on-tones. The framed squares are easily assembled and the stars twinkle brightly against a light blue background. The gender neutral fabrics and 55″ x 55″ size are perfect for baby or toddler alike.

ZooCityFLAT600px

To add to the excitement, I am the guest blogger for McCall’s today. Click here to read about my inspiration for the quilt and the twists and turns construction took along the way to completion. Leave a comment on the McCall’s blog for a chance to win a panel of the zoo animals, thanks to Wilmington Prints’ generous donation.

I am also happy to announce that McCall’s is offering kits for the project. (This is the first of my published quilts that is offered as a kit!) Click here to order a kit from the Quilt and Sew Shop. Or, if you live locally and wish to see the fabric in person, visit Loving Stitches at 7076 North Ramsey St., Fayetteville, NC  28311.

McCall’s editors kindly donated several copies of the magazine issue. If you would like to be in the drawing, leave a comment stating who you could make “Zoo City” for. The drawing will be on July 1.

 

Actions

Information

22 responses

23 06 2016
Liz Horgan

I would make it for one of my great nephews–no grandchildren for me yet!

23 06 2016
Carol Kunkel

😀 Road Trip…. Or will have to order the panel for this one! Love it!! Again, you never fail to amaze!!! 😍

23 06 2016
Carol Hammond

Love this very happy quilt. I would make it for any child that wanted or needed a quilt. I can hardly wait to show a friend of mine that LOVES to make baby and kids quilts. Thanks again for a great pattern,Abi !!

23 06 2016
Kathy h

Such a cute baby quilt. Congratulations on having your quilt in the magazine. It must be so exciting. I have a friend who will be a new grandma so would make it for her grand baby.

23 06 2016
Cynthia

Hi Aby, I will be stopping by Loving Stitches on my way home from visiting my son. I am going to the mlb baseball game at Ft. Bragg on the 3rd! Jeff was interviewed my ESPN about one of the LTs in his BN. It will air on ESPN prior to the game! Very excited for him and to see your quilt in person. Stephanie and I are going to the loving stitches quilt retreat in September. Also, almost done with my summer fat quarter project. Will send pic. Cindy

Sent from my iPhone

>

23 06 2016
kessylarae

This quilt is adorable, Aby! I love the theme. There are so many interesting things going on it feels like a storybook to me. Imagine how much fun a little one would have imagining the stories behind every square.

23 06 2016
Mary Ed Williams

What a wonderful quilt, Aby! I love it! Any chance you could teach the technique in a class at Loving Stitches? I would make one for my friend’s grandchild who is almost a year old and I’m afraid I won’t get her a quilt before she goes to college!

23 06 2016
Mary Ed Williams

And I LOVE block-ectomy! We are all super-surgeons when it comes to doing that!

23 06 2016
Teri C

Thses fabrics are so cheerful! Love the quilt. I would like to make one for my grandson.

23 06 2016
Janet T

I would love to help my Granddaughter make one for her new baby sister.

23 06 2016
Gill

I’d make this for Rosa who will be 2 next month!

23 06 2016
Lori Smanski

this is adorable. congratulations. I have 2 great niece or nephews (not sure yet which they are) due at the end of the year. would love to make them one of these. keepsakes for sure.

23 06 2016
Jennifer Johnston

I would totally make this quilt for my nephew Brayden!!!

23 06 2016
Rochelle Summers

My sister and her niece have traveled to most of those big cities. I think it would a great lap quilt for one or both of them. Thank you the opportunity to win a copy of the magazine.

23 06 2016
Maridee Hargis

I would make a quilt for the NICU or Project Linus. Love the bright primary colors in this panel so hoping find that in my local quilt store.

23 06 2016
Ronda

Congratulations on being published with a kit! That is fantastic. Love the colors.

23 06 2016
Tonya Fouse Krout

I love the stars and would make this for the children’s ward at UNC or Duke hospital.

23 06 2016
Pamela Reim

Since my granddaughter is in labor as I type, I think I know who Zoo City would be perfect for–soon to be Baby Waylon!

24 06 2016
Chris Woods

Just adorable .I love the bright colours. I would pass along the magazine to my friend Andrea, mother of 5 and a new quilter.

25 06 2016
Eileen Maher

Really cute
I would love to make it for my grandson Who is only 10 weeks old.

27 06 2016
Heather Raymond

Very Nice Aby, the cheerful colors draw the eye.

30 06 2016
Gala Damato

I would make a quilt for a patient in NICU at CHKD in Norfolk with the panel. As part of our Service Projects in our guild we make comfort quilts for babies that get to go home but don’the have a good prognosis. Just got my Quick Quilts in the mail. Congrats to you.

Leave a Reply

