July Fat Quarter Challenge – Sampler Samples

15 07 2016

Due to family activities and summer travels, my fat quarter challenge usage report for this month involves two on-going projects rather than a newly completed baby quilt. I would love to see and share pictures of your fat quarter projects! (aby dot quilts at gmail dot com)

DSCN7909This summer I’m working sporadically on 6” blocks for my Splendid Sampler. Admittedly, I’m not making every official block in this year-long quilt along hosted by Pat Sloan and Jane Davidson. Instead, I’m selecting the blocks that coordinate well with my “Chocolat” fat quarters, and I’m adding other tried and true patchwork designs. Click the Splendid Sampler icon in the right hand column to link to the website where you’ll find instructions for all official blocks.

DSCN7912As if one quilt along sampler isn’t enough to keep up with, I joined the “30 Somethings” bee group hosted by Debby, a Tarheel Quilt Guild friend. Our first project is a sampler quilt of blocks from Lori Holt’s Vintage Farm Girl book. 1930s repro fabric is so charming and cheerful, and Debby’s enthusiasm is so infectious, I couldn’t resist joining the group! The goal is to work our way through the book, making four blocks per month, either 6” or 12.” I purchased a jelly roll of 30s prints and solids from Loving Stitches, figuring I could make most of the 6” blocks with the 2 ½” width. And I added some old and some new fat quarters to the fabric pull. Sew far, sew fun!

Have you seen the new 30s repro prints from Moda, Marcus Brothers, Wilmington Prints and other manufacturers? What project are you tempted to make with them?

Actions

Information

One response

6 10 2016
Progress Report – VFG Blocks | abyquilts

[…] I have made over 20 of the 42 blocks. Progress! You can read other blog posts about this project here and […]

Leave a Reply

