“Propeller” Baby Quilt Finished!

4 08 2016

IMG_0011I’m happy to say the airplane-themed quilt for my grand-nephew is finished! (Read about the beginning of this project here.) The 10″ blocks were not complex, and a strip-piecing technique sped construction. I discovered the fabric pieces for this size “Propeller” block lend themselves to 5″ squares and 2 1/2″ strips. Perhaps a Charm Pack and Jelly Roll “Propeller” quilt is in my future. Wouldn’t polka-dots or bright solids or the saturated tone-on-tone prints by Cotton and Steel be striking? But I digress.

IMG_0013After making the nine blocks, I auditioned fabric for sashing. White would have been okay, but I found an off-white with teal dots at Web Fabrics in Purcellville, Va. which pleased me more. An all over spiral quilting design subtly adds to the idea of whirling propellers, and a navy tone-on-tone binding makes a definitive finish.

Welcome, Baby Dolinger. Your family stands ready to offer you roots and wings!

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 08 2016
Maridee Hargis

I really like how this turned out. I have a similar pattern in a book I’ve owned for 10 years and it’s one I haven’t tried yet. Thanks for inspiring me to dig it out again. Now to find some plane fabric. Oh no! I will HAVE to go shopping.

4 08 2016
Liz Horgan

It came out great!

4 08 2016
Marie Krause

Cute! Cute! Cute!

4 08 2016
quiltiferous

So cute!

Leave a Reply

