Quilt Design Inspiration–A Contest

11 08 2016

This week hubby and I are vacationing with family near York, Pennsylvania. Yesterday we enjoyed a family lunch at Hoss’s restaurant to celebrate Aunt Anna’s 80th birthday.

Quilt sightings! Not only were several framed antique quilt blocks displayed behind the cash register, there was an awesome ceramic tile and glass mosaic decorating the outside of the building.

IMG_0038

Click on the picture above to take a closer look. Which part of this crazy quilt style mosaic inspires you? Which section could serve as a springboard for your next quilt? Comment with your design ideas, please. I’ll send a copy of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks from Today’s Top Designers, Vol. 13 to you if your design idea piques my interest.

IMG_0039

Actions

Information

15 responses

11 08 2016
mandalin75

I love the part that resembles broken pottery. I have a long standing love of pottery and a new zeal for quilting so it just fits! Enjoy your trip. It sounds delightful.

15 08 2016
abydolinger

While viewing the mosaic, I wondered if the artist gathered bits and pieces of broken or discarded glass and pottery to make the overall design or if he/she broke the glass/pottery on purpose.

11 08 2016
Kathy h

I like the circles with the small tiles around it. Reminds me of a quilting design. Maybe small pebbles.

15 08 2016
abydolinger

Those “pebbles” expand the circular shape and the contrast in color from black to light blue adds interest.

11 08 2016
Pamela Reim

I like the fractured blue & light gray part with the rectangular pieces around it. Looks like glass that has been shattered on impact. The rectangle strips around it add if added just top and one side, not all the way around. My second favorite is the far left mosaic square with the taupe, grey, charcoal. I think if it was flipped and inverted 3 times to create a larger square, that could be interesting. or flip and invert 3 times across….Look forward to seeing your take.

15 08 2016
abydolinger

I also liked the rectangles of various sizes used as a border around the “fractured glass” design. The rectangles look haphazard yet organized. Interesting idea to flip, invert or rotate a block to make a cohesive four block design!

11 08 2016
Maridee Hargis

I like the rail fence with small blue squares. I have lots of 2 1/2″ squares that I could do this. Mine would be more of a scrappy look.

15 08 2016
abydolinger

At first I wondered how you would keep the row effect since all the rows are blue. But then I looked again, and all the rows of tiny tiles are NOT blue. Pastel rows come between the blue rows. Nice idea to use your 2 1/2″ squares in various colors. Tip: To avoid a pronounced swastika design, begin and end each of the four blocks with rows of muted colors as portrayed in the mosaic.

11 08 2016
Sally Murray

Love the Market St..chef upper right. I’m iitching to draft that out for a kitchen wall hanging.!

15 08 2016
abydolinger

He does look like a jolly chef!

12 08 2016
Ronda L Thomas

I just came in from watching the meteor shower…so cool. Quite a few big bright ones with long trails and some very small super fast ones. Going in many different directions. On the wall, The section in the middle with the blue stripes remind me of the shower….the little squares all in a row or the long stripes or rows….I can see that with blue, gold and silver maybe on thin stripes of black background…

15 08 2016
abydolinger

Such an interesting correlation between the meteor shower and the mosaic design! You’ve drawn inspiration for a quilt from nature and from another art form!

15 08 2016
quiltiferous

Wow! There are so many interesting things going on in the mosaic! I think I like the general layout best. If I made blocks in a myriad of sizes, I could fit them together the way these are fitted. The blue squares at the top seem to have “sashing” that fits into the “border”. How fun!!

15 08 2016
abydolinger

This mosaic does give the idea of a quilt made from “orphan blocks.” It demonstrates that the simple and the complex combine to make an interesting design.

1 09 2016
Magazine Winners | abyquilts

[…] and ceramic tile mosaic which decorates the outside wall of Hoss’s restaurant in York, PA. Click here to read the blog post and ensuing comments. The ideas were […]

Leave a Reply

