Fat Quarter Challenge–August

15 08 2016

The 15th of the month has rolled around again, and I am once more posting about a quilt project which utilizes some of my hoarded fat quarters.

IMG_0032

The inspiration for this simple “Four Patch” quilt comes from Mari Martin’s “Snowbroth” quilt pictured on pg. 46 of the August 2016 Connecting Threads catalog. Click here to view the quilt and/or order a kit. (See more of Mari’s designs here.) I wondered if Mari’s design would morph well from her pastel white/gray/teal palette to my bright orange and blue butterfly print with coordinating tone-on-tones and prints. What do you think?

IMG_0044

I down-sized the quilt from lap size to baby size in order to use my fat quarters. By cutting 4″ squares from four FQs, I obtained enough for 20 “Four Patch” blocks. (Each FQ yields 20  4″ squares.) With 2″ sashing, the quilt measures 36″ x 45 1/2.” Note the use of partial blocks for the border surrounding 12 complete “Four Patch” blocks; I think this feature adds interest. If you make this baby size quilt from FQs as I have described, you will need about 3/4 yd. of fabric for sashing as well as 20  2 1/2″ squares for cornerstones.

Now it’s your turn. What are you making with your fat quarters? I would love to show a picture of your project to blog readers. Send your digital picture and explanation to aby.quilts@gmail.com.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 08 2016
stitchinggrandma

I think you captured the effect the pattern was after. I like your bright and sunny quilt! I love what can be done with fat quarters. I used to avoid them because I felt like it was never “enough” fabric, but now I like to use them to add variety in my projects.

15 08 2016
onecreativefamily

I think brights are always my favorite.

22 08 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

What a bright and cheerful quilt!

Leave a Reply

