More VFG Blocks

6 09 2016

This past weekend I devoted several hours to catching up on my Vintage Farm Girl sampler quilt. To be honest, I was about ready to abandon the project because I just hadn’t found time to work on it. What with overnight guests, volunteer work, and picnics at our new property, summer and my enthusiasm slipped away. Do you ever feel like this about a quilt project? The fact that you have a U.F.O. (UnFinished Object) or W.I.P. (Work in Progress) is there in the back of your mind, prodding you to take action. But since you don’t have a chunk of time to work on it, you feel like giving up altogether.

My brain’s gentle prodding led me to look at and count the 6” blocks I had already made. Fourteen! I shouldn’t give up now! To add to the motivation, daughter Trinity texted asking if I’d made enough blocks already for the quilt. I said to myself, “Okay, it’s time to work on these blocks again. Pull out the instruction book and the fabrics, rev up the sewing machine, and get going.” It was fun to text Trinity pictures of each of the blocks as I made them.

img_0136

For the next week or so, VFG blocks will be my go-to project when I have a spare hour to sew. All I needed to resurrect this project was a little prodding to evaluate by previous progress and the encouragement of a fellow quilter.

Do you have a tip for finishing a languishing project? What helps motivate you to finish a quilt you started months ago?

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 09 2016
Lauri D

I have the same question…time management tips

6 09 2016
Kathy Hansen

If there is a new project I’m just itching to start, I bargain with myself . “Finish X number of blocks or put the borders on X project, and then you can start the new one!” It’s clearly not foolproof based on the number of UFO’s I still have but it helps motivate me sometimes!

6 09 2016
Marie Krause

My motivation is lousy weather. Then I need to do something and if the project is all over my sewing space I need to do something about it. So I put my go to project in front of me so I can get moving on it to make room for the next thing.

6 09 2016
darladolinger

I like the blocks. I think they are old fashion  looking .

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

6 09 2016
Ronda

This was the same discussion we had on a face book group. Lack of motivation….your little squares are fabulous…I just tidied up some sewing space, put on the music and cut out 3 quilts and 2 bindings…ahhh I feel the motivation waning…

10 10 2016
Progress Report – VFG Blocks | abyquilts

[…] I’ve been working my way through Lori Holt’s Vintage Farm Girl quilt instruction book this summer. I think I have made over 20 of the 42 blocks. Progress! You can read other blog posts about this project here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

