Fat Quarter Challenge – September

15 09 2016

This year I’ve challenged myself to make a project each month with some of my hoarded fat quarters. And I promised to show blog readers my project on the 15th of each month. I’ve also invited you to join the challenge, making a project to share via digital photo sent to my email address (aby.quilts@gmail.com).

My project this month is “Yellow Brick Road” with a fall theme. “Yellow Brick Road” is a very fat quarter friendly quilt designed in multiple sizes by Atkinson Designs. This pattern has been available for years and could be considered one of the first modern, blended quilt patterns. Click here to order a pattern from Missouri Star Quilt Company.

img_0143Several years ago I purchased a bundle of 5 fat quarters of coordinating fall fabric from JoAnns. Because I envisioned a lap size quilt, I knew I needed more fabric, so I hunted for several coordinating FQs in my stash. I had forgotten how quickly this pattern works up – I pieced the top of 30 blocks in just two days! Then I took the patchwork and two options for yellow/orange inner border to JoAnns in search of an outer border fabric. Currently their fall/harvest fabrics are on sale, and it was difficult to pick my favorite. I settled on a gold, rust, and green medium scale oak leaf print.

img_0150

With polyester gold thread, I quilted a freehand, edge to edge design of meandering/3 loops/more meandering. I wanted to give the impression of leaves looping and spiraling to the ground. Perhaps you can see the design best on the dark fabrics shown below.

img_0151

Hubby says the blended effect of the fabrics reminds him of leaves piled on a forest floor, all jumbled together and overlapping. Welcome fall with its rich earthy tones, pumpkins, acorns, and multi-colored leaves!

Remember to send me a picture of your FQ challenge project!

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 09 2016
Tanya

This is really pretty, Aby. I agree with your husband about how it looks like leaf piles. Very nice Fall quilt.

15 09 2016
Tonya Krout

I’d say you captured the movement of leaves wafting through the air. I’m not a big fan of fall colors but this is very nice.

15 09 2016
darladolinger

Hi Abby, I;m not a fan of the brown’s per say but that quilt is beautiful.you have been working hard gg

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

18 09 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

Love the fall colors!

Leave a Reply

