December Fat Quarter Challenge

10 12 2016

In 2016 I challenged myself to use fat quarters each month in a project. And I promised to show you my creation by the 15th of each month.

My December project is a fabric gift bag. I’ll describe how I made it and show pictures, too. First, “square up” a fat quarter of holiday print fabric making sure it is a true rectangle with 90 degree angles for all four corners. The longer (20″) sides of the rectangle are the top and bottom of the gift bag.

img_0370 At the top of the fat quarter, I pressed under 1/4″ and then 1/4″ again to the wrong side. The pressing made it easy to narrowly hem the top of the gift bag by machine. I rotary cut a 1 1/2″ strip along the bottom 20″ side of the FQ to make a tie closure. You could skip this step and use about 20″ ribbon (1/4″ or 1/2″ wide). For my tie closure, I pressed the 1 1/2″ wide strip in half and then pressed both raw edges of the strip toward the center fold. I machine stitched through all four layers, completing the tie.

img_0371The next step was machine stitching 1″ wide white gathered lace along the top of the bag. I back-stitched at the beginning and the end. If your gift bag is for a guy who doesn’t appreciate lace, you could skip this step or use rick rack or gross-grain ribbon in a contrasting color. At this point, fold the tie in half and stay-stitch it in the seam allowance to the left side of the bag. The tie is placed about 5″ down from the top of the bag, pinned to the “pretty” side of the fabric.

Now fold the bag in half, right sides together, and pin the left side of the bag to the right side of the bag. Sew from top to bottom, back-stitching at the beginning and the end as shown in the first picture below.

img_0372     img_0373

Place a pin at the bottom center fold. Match the side seam to the pin. Then pin and sew along the bottom of the bag as shown in the second picture above.

“Box” the bottom corners, stitching about 2″ from the corner points. Turn the bag right side out. Insert a gift, gather the top of the bag together and tie closed.

img_0374     img_0375

After the gift unwrapping on Christmas morning is over, my family knows to hand over the fabric bags so I can use them again next year. But I have been known to give in to the begging, “Oh, please, can’t I keep the bag, too?”

What about you, have you been sewing up some of your fat quarters? Please send me a digital picture (aby.quilts@gmail.com)

 

Actions

Information

One response

19 12 2016
Blog Readers Share – December FQ Challenge | abyquilts

[…] Patti wrote, “Several years ago my sister-in-law gave me a bunch of green & red plaid fabrics. I decided to make reusable Christmas gift bags so I could save money on wrapping paper. I also made some tags. (Wish I knew how to use my embroidery machine better, wanted to make embroidered tags, but needed them in a hurry so I just wrote the names.) That way, the kids all know these are from Gma & Gpa.😉 I just made rectangles, boxed the bottom and put a casing part way down and put Christmas ribbon through. I made several different sizes, too.” (For a step-by-step tutorial, see my blog post on 12/10/2016.) […]

Leave a Reply

