Blog Readers Share – December FQ Challenge

19 12 2016

Here we are near the end of 2016 – have you completed the challenge I issued in January? “Turn some of your hoarded fat quarters into quilts or sewn projects this year.” Happily, I’ve kept up with the challenge and shown you my projects each month. But I have to admit I still have a container of unused FQs! Ah, well, a new year with new challenges is just around the corner.

Several blog readers submitted pics of their FQ projects this month. Be inspired!

Stephanie sent a photo of “Quick Quarter Quilt” from Quick Trip Quilts by Eleanor Burns.

45b8766fec964c07b45d25775c55edf1

“It is an easy project, especially if you use a FQ package of Tonga Treats.  Once I decided on the layout, I snipped a piece of each fabric and made a ‘cheat sheet’ for a swatch card.”

img_1066Patti wrote, “Several years ago my sister-in-law gave me a bunch of green & red plaid fabrics. I decided to make reusable Christmas gift bags so I could save money on wrapping paper. I also made some tags. (Wish I knew how to use my embroidery machine better, wanted to make embroidered tags, but needed them in a hurry so I just wrote the names.) That way, the kids all know these are from Gma & Gpa. 😉
I just made rectangles, boxed the bottom and put a casing part way down and put Christmas ribbon through. I made several different sizes, too.” (For a step-by-step tutorial, see my blog post on 12/10/2016.)

Maridee completed a “Triple Star” baby quilt which she will donate to the NICU. You will find a link to “Triple Star” on the Patterns page of this blog. All the yellows, oranges, and reds play so well together!

20161214_081313

Kim made some quickie hotpads out 8″ squares from her daughter’s outgrown dresses and stash fabric. But you could certainly use FQs for the project. If you need a last minute Christmas gift, check out the tutorial: https://youtu.be/FwmMFn79prY

img_8526

Thanks, ladies, for sharing pictures of your projects this month!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 12 2016
scstephquilts

Thanks for sharing. I see more projects in my 2017 “To Do” list. A blessed holiday to all.

24 12 2016
scrapmuffinquilts

Fun to see all the projects. Maybe there will be more done in 2017.

Leave a Reply

