House Construction

17 01 2017

img_0531Perhaps you are curious about the progress on our retirement home. The photo shows the back of the house; just one more warm day is needed for the bricklaying. In addition, wood under-layment is installed for vinyl in kitchen, bathrooms, and my sewing studio. And I have been shopping at Lowe’s for lighting fixtures and bathroom towel bars. Decisions, decisions, decisions!

For a textile rather than brick and mortar update, I’d like to show you the 6″ houses I made for a block exchange. The guidelines stipulated bright fabrics as well as black and white on a white background. The 12 participants each made 12 blocks of various sizes and one small wall quilt for a lottery exchange. I was ecstatic to find a fat quarter of the striped fabric for a border in the bottom of my sewing basket. The mini quilt is hand quilted; click the picture to zoom in an see the details.

img_0532I can hardly wait for our home to be complete, and I am on pins and needles to see the blocks my friends made for me!

Actions

Information

9 responses

17 01 2017
Ronda

Your house is coming along and looking great. Shopping is always fun and exhausting.That mini quilt is fabulous. Love those colors.

17 01 2017
Vanessa

This is a fun idea and your colors are so pretty! What kind of time limit did you put on this project?

17 01 2017
abydolinger

We were given over a year to construct house blocks for the exchange. But I procrastinated until a few months before the deadline.

17 01 2017
Jennifer Johnston

Wow Aby! Looks like you’ll be moving in before long. Love your fabric houses as well!

17 01 2017
darladolinger

I love the houses and bright colors. Daral

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

17 01 2017
Kim koester

How exciting love your new home !!

17 01 2017
sanamoulder

I like the B&W zigzag for the inner border.

17 01 2017
Patti Hyder

So excited about your house! (It looks kinda familiar. 😉 ) The house blocks are super cute! Will I see you in Feb. in VA?

17 01 2017
Debbie @ Shadows of the Blue Ridge

Sounds like your house and our house are at a similar stage. I am so ready to be done with picking things out – I had no idea how many hours of time it was going to take…a bit stressful at times. It’s looking great, though!

Leave a Reply

