First Quarter Challenge – “Vroom!”

22 01 2017

fullsizerender-7Hey, quilting friends! How are you doing on the First Quarter Challenge? As a reminder, I challenged blog readers and myself to use stashed pre-cuts this year, making a project each quarter. Read about the challenge guidelines here.

In the first quarter, January – March, the challenge is using Fat Quarters (18″ x 21″) or Quilter’s Candy (packages of 2 1/2″ squares). I’m happy to report a fat quarter friendly baby boy quilt top is finished! Simple but fun, the fabric and design show-case vehicles little guys are fascinated with. If you’d like to make “Vroom!,” you’ll find a link to instructions on the Patterns page of this blog.

fullsizerender-9

I hope you’ll share a picture of your challenge project (aby.quilts@gmail.com). Blog readers love to applaud your creations. And your pictures inspire others to accept the challenge!

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 01 2017
scstephquilts

My first quarter challenge is under way. In between those 2 1/2 inch squares of quilters candy, I am finishing Maridee’s quilt top from 2016 and another UFO from the Loving Stitches retreat that just by coincidence is made with 2 1/2 inch squares. Pictures when done with each project.

23 01 2017
Maridee Hargis

I love the bright colors. I’ve finished a table topper top using quilters’ candy. Now to figure out how I’m going to quilt it. Picture to follow – eventually. Thanks for keeping me motivated.

31 01 2017
Inspiration for “Quilter’s Candy” | abyquilts

[…] Our “Use your pre-cuts” challenge for the first quarter is using Fat Quarters or Quilter’s Candy (2 1/2″ squares). Happily, I made my goal already! You can read about a quilt I made from Fat Quarters here. […]

Leave a Reply

