First Quarter Challenge – Blog Readers Share

9 02 2017

I have challenged blog readers and myself to use pre-cuts this year. Between January and March, the challenge is using Fat Quarters and/or Quilter’s Candy. Several blog followers have shared pictures of their projects for your inspiration.

Ronda made a fun, mid-sized purse from two Fat Quarters – one for the outside, and one for the lining. Click on the collage to zoom in and read pattern information (michellepatterns.com). Ronda notes that the grocery bag size uses larger cuts of fabric.

collage

Maridee cut hexagons from Quilter’s Candy 2 1/2″ squares to make a charming table topper. “I used the English paper piecing technique.  I think it looks a bit summery -which is good since I have so many fall things. I need to branch out in my color choices.”

16177462_10155010309803385_6279779033561434559_o

Stephanie has several projects underway.

19087216b8014dda8d3c6baa7b0e92d5-1She is happy to report she has finished piecing the top of “Maridee’s Quilt.” (Stephanie admired a quilt shared by Maridee on this blog post and asked for construction specifics. Hooray for a fun Fat Quarter finish!)

“There were some delays. After the top was finished, the first time, it bothered me that the cats, flowers, and state names were sideways and upside down.  You have to rotate your blocks 90 degrees in order to make the pinwheel; something I did not initially consider.  I took the top apart and put it back together so everything would go in the same direction. Unable to locate the gold and coral Cotton & Steel fabrics, at a price I was willing to pay, I opted for a gold grunge fabric for my stop border and a small floral print in coral for the outside border. Except for quilting, this 2016 project is complete.”

c48d1577692e460491bd9846db9ac54bThe kit of fabrics for this wallhanging was in one of the goodie bags from the Loving Stitches retreat last fall.  Finishing at 2”, the squares for the half-square triangles started a smidgen larger than Quilter’s Candy.  Loving Stitches (in Fayetteville, NC) provided everything needed, including backing, for this fun project.  “Nothing fancy, I did quilt it myself.”

 

Sally made a Double Four Patch quilt adapted from an Eleanor Burns “Quilt in a Day” design (from her 2014 Block Party, available on YouTube). The soft gray/green and white background fabrics allow the Quilter’s Candy jewels to sparkle!

dougle-4patch

Sally writes, “I made this with 2  mini-charm packs plus background and 2 1/2” squares cut from white strips.  It was lots of fun and very easy.”

Click here to link to My Sewful Retirement blog where Karla shows a very cute snowman wall quilt made from Quilter’s Candy and also a mat for the top of her washing machine (to catch all the drips from laundry detergent).

It’s not too late to jump on the First Quarter Challenge Band Wagon! I’d love to share a picture of your project (aby.quilts@gmail.com).

Actions

Information

4 responses

9 02 2017
Ronda

Lots of fun projects finished up with fat quarters. Love the colors on the “Maridees quilt”.

10 02 2017
Trinity

I am curious about the Double Four Patch quilt pattern. I like that it was set on point, and her placement is so different than the other picture on google.

10 02 2017
My Sewful Retirement

I love all of the quilty inspirations you’ve shown.Thanks for including me!

12 02 2017
Maridee Hargis

I’ve been very inspired to use those Quilter’s Candy – finished another table runner. Now only a bzillion minus 2 packs left to use! I know the challenge is quarterly but I’m pretending it’s monthly to keep myself motivated. And I love how Stephanie’s version of my quilt turned out.

Leave a Reply

