“Eye Spy” Finish

27 03 2017

“Eye Spy with my little eye . . .”

I raided my box of 3″ squares and cut more from conversation prints for the centers of the patchwork blocks. Frames of primary colors were cut 2″ wide, and I cut 2″ corner squares of black and white polka dot fabric. I decided to extend the Nine Patch secondary design in the borders. (The math actually works out for 3″ finished squares in the outer border, but I forgot and cut 3″ squares as I did for the interior blocks. Extra points if you can figure out how I coped with my “Ooops.”)

While looking in JoAnn’s for sashing, I ran into a quilting friend from my guild. She propelled me toward a white with colorful triangles print instead of the white and gray print I was considering. I am pleased with the fun-loving results. Most of the squares in the interior of the quilt have a “twin” in the outer border so the recipient of this quilt has had fun matching the monkey, cat, cowboy boots, construction equipment, etc.

I quilted the quilt with white thread in a meander and loop, freehand design. And I bound the quilt with black Kona cotton.

Have you made an “Eye Spy” quilt? What was the most interesting conversation print you included?

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 03 2017
darladolinger

A lot of depth.

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

27 03 2017
Maridee Hargis

outer border – not all were the same size? Curious minds want to know.
I love the quilt no matter what coping was done.

27 03 2017
abydolinger

Extra points awarded to Maridee for concluding that some of the squares in the outer border are actually rectangles to give the border length needed!

27 03 2017
Sharon L. Martin

I have made an ” I spy”by hand, with so many lovely prints…. Think the grass hopper on a motorcycle was my favorite

Sent from my iPhone

>

Leave a Reply

