Second Quarter Challenge – Introduction

3 04 2017

This year I’m challenging myself and blog readers to use pre-cuts, one type per quarter. January through March we tackled Fat Quarters and/or Quilter’s Candy. The pre-cut challenge for April through June is Jelly Rolls. I hope you will join in the fun by creatively transforming your neatly rolled set of forty 2 1/2″ wide strips into a quilt. If you need design ideas, check out the many jelly roll pattern books as well as online images (Pinterest). Please send pictures of your projects to aby.quilts@gmail.com; this will inspire other blog readers to accept the challenge as well.

About a year and half ago, I visited a friend who lives near Indianapolis. Along with seeing the downtown sights, we stopped by Quilts Plus, a wonderful quilt shop. As a “souvenir,” I purchased about a yard of fabric and a jelly roll in the “Figures” Moda line. I had a great design in mind for using the jelly roll, but all I can remember now is a blue outer border. I should have drawn a sketch and stored it with the fabric. Ah, well, there is more than one way to use a jelly roll! (Click here to read about my visit to Quilts Plus.)

I have been experimenting with a new 14″ block idea that will utilize the scrappy Nine Patches I assembled this past summer as leaders and enders. I found most of the pieces needed for these blocks in my 2 1/2″ square bin and in my 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangle bin. I decided to simplify the design (pictured below) a bit for my jelly roll challenge project.

First, I separated the strips by color and value. There are ten medium blue strips, more than any other color, so I will reserve them for sashing. Counting the remaining strips, I estimate that I will be able to make 9-12 blocks.

The next step was pairing 9 darks with 9 lights. These pairs are on the left in the photo below. They will be strip-pieced and cut to form the rectangle units. I also paired 4 darks with 4 mediums. These pairs are on the right in the photo below. I will strip-piece them with white solid fabric for Four Patches. I have a few strips left over to use in the Nine Patches or as cornerstones in the sashing.

Here’s my plan, subject to serendipitous changes, of course. (The light gray represents medium fabrics.)

 

I’ll detail my progress in the next couple of blog posts . . . perhaps you’d like to Quilt Along and make this super fun design, too! For now, unroll your jelly roll and analyze the colors and values you’ll be working with.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 04 2017
onecreativefamily

I use fat quarters a lot and love the jelly rolls. Wonderful ideas

3 04 2017
Kim

Love the pattern 💙💜💚❤

Leave a Reply

