Jelly Roll Quilt Along, Step 1

5 04 2017

In my previous post, I showed my “Jelly Roll Mosaic Tiles” plan for using a “Figures” Zen Chic Jelly Roll. Are you excited about the project? Are you quilting along with me?

Normally, I construct the inside units of a quilt block prior to constructing the outer units. However, in this case I am working from the outside toward the inside because I want to make sure there is enough fabric to strip-piece the rectangle units. It doesn’t matter to me if the interior Nine Patches are pieced from odds and ends of the leftovers. In addition to the jelly roll and (dark blue) yardage for an outer border, you will need about 1 1/2 yds. light background fabric.

I discovered my original count of 9 pairs of dark/light would only yield 9 blocks. I believe I can make a 12 block quilt with the number of strips in my jelly roll, so I need 12 pairs of dark/light strips. For the colors I have, that works out to 4 Navy, 4 Peach, and 4 Yellow. If your jelly roll does not have enough light strips, substitute from stash or use several strips of your light background fabric.

Measure and cut an 18 1/2″ strip from each of the 12 dark strips. Reserve the remainder to make Four Patches or Nine Patches. Cut two 18 1/2″ strips from each of the 12 light strips. Reserve the remainder to make Four Patches or Nine Patches. (The “remainder” from the strips is shown at the top of the picture.)

Sew a dark 18 1/2″ strip between two 18 1/2″ strips of the same light fabric. Press seams toward the dark fabric. You will make 12 strip-pieced units. (Sorry, only 9 units are shown in the picture below.)

Sliver-trim one end of each strip-pieced unit, and sub-cut at 4 1/2″ intervals. You will need 4 rectangle units from each fabric combination. These units measure 4 1/2″ x 6 1/2.”

Pin each set of four rectangle units together; you will have 12 sets of 4 identical rectangles units each. The next step is making Four Patches, so pair up (at least) 3 darks with 3 mediums and cut six  2 1/2″ wide strips from your light background fabric.

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 04 2017
Maridee Hargis

I’m working on a jelly roll pattern. Crossed Paths. I only have one jelly roll to use up. I got frustrated with some batik jelly rolls I bought a few years ago that each strip needed to be trimmed to make them all the same width. Now when we get to charm packs I will be well supplied.

5 04 2017
Ronda

So. I understand instructions to this point. What about the corner units. Will that be used with a background strip?

I have about 10 jelly rolls print and batik. Have 2 projects on my board. A Whirlygig pattern from moda bake shop and a customized safari 2 studio 8 pattern inspired by your blog about seeing patterns in a wall mural. I talked about meteor showers. So i have one working from that.
But have a great JR that I could use with this project.

5 04 2017
Ronda

Ok I went back and reread your previous post…duh…the corner units are the 4 patches.::)…

5 04 2017
abydolinger

Yes, I’ll write about the Four Patches in Step 2, the next blog post.

Leave a Reply

