Symposium Inspiration

24 05 2017

Have you ever walked through the campus of William Peace University in Raleigh, NC? It’s just beautiful and so peaceful, right in the heart of the city. The brick architecture is flanked by ancient shade trees, and brick walkways curve between the dorms, educational halls, and dining facility. Splashing fountain and twittering birds complete the serene picture. The college founder, in bronze, seemed a little cold, so I lent him my “Get the Point” quilt.

At the North Carolina Quilt Symposium this past weekend, I enjoyed chatting with “old” friends and meeting new ones. It was fun to share my favorite quick cutting techniques as a hands-on lecture. The evening programs, which all retreat-ers attended were entertaining, inspirational, and informational. Some of the quilters from my local guild (Tarheel Quilt Guild in Fayetteville, NC) met in our dorm lounge after hours to sew and chat together. Fun and laughter, all around.

Here are some pictures from the six hour workshop on “Get the Point.” (This block, designed by Carrie Nelson, was published in Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks from Today’s Top Designers, vol. 3. I modified the instructions so that 2 1/2″ strips are used throughout.) Since the 6″ quarter-block is shaded diagonally, half dark and half light, it functions much like a “Log Cabin” block with many possible layouts. For example, the blocks could be arranged as “Straight Furrows” or “Pinwheels.”

Gwen borrowed batik squares made by four workshop participants to plot an off-set hanging diamond on the design wall. And Marva chose a dark brown rather than a light (white) background. The quilters enjoyed  chatting and encouraging each other as they sewed together.

    

Durham/Orange Quilters, host of this year’s Symposium, organized a quilt show and vendors’ mall. When planning to attend a quilt show, I anticipate being inspired by a quilt or two. Sometimes I am awed by amazing quilting or motivated by an unusual yet pleasing color combination. Sometimes the story behind the quilt draws me in. This quilt show did not disappoint. While I admired many, “Confetti” most inspired me. My friend Nancy was also captured by the I-should-make-this-scrappy-quilt sentiment. In our enthusiasm, we planned a sew day for our guild to get started on the bazillion Four Patches required. If you live locally and wish to join us, we’ll be at the North Regional Library (855 McArthur Rd., Fayetteville) from 9 to 5 on Friday, 2 June. Comment below if you need more info.

“Confetti” was designed by Augusta Cole. You can order a pattern from her website augustacolequilting.com.

Actions

Information

7 responses

25 05 2017
Marie K.

Oh! I love that quilt! Was it all scrappy? It had an overall blue tone to it in the posted picture. I want in on that project! Too bad I live so far away. 😦
I took an Augusta Cole class at the first NC Symposium I ever went to and you quilted that yellow and blue scrap quilt I made, remember?

25 05 2017
Jennifer Johnston

Really love the alternative layout Gwen is perfecting!

25 05 2017
Marilyn

Aby, can you please send specific directions for your [strips] Get the Point quilt? I can’t find it in all the blogs it’s been in & have loved it! Thanks ever so much. Marilyn

1 06 2017
Marilyn

Is there anyone out there that has the directions for Get the Point? It’s been on my ‘to do’ radar for quite a while & I’m not finding it anywhere on this blog?

1 06 2017
abydolinger

Marilyn, I sent the instructions for Get the Point to your Hotmail address several days ago. Perhaps it went into spam. Please check and write back if you did not receive my email.

1 06 2017
Marilyn

I did not see/get it, Aby. Thanks in advance for hopefully resending it 🙂 I’ve loved all the color options in your workshops & need to clean up my scraps.

2 06 2017
abydolinger

Will resend later today.

Leave a Reply

