“Hunter’s Star” Finish

13 06 2017

I began “Hunter’s Star” in a workshop taught by Jane Godshall for Tarheel Quilters (May 2, 2015). Click here to read about the beginning of this project. Jane taught us how to use the Deb Tucker ruler for “Hunter’s Star;” this made the project intriguing and fun!

Along the way, I imagined a Lemoyne Star in the center of the quilt, but discarded the idea after constructing the block and placing it on my design wall. There is just too much of the same fabric, and a thin black flange would cut off star points. I felt a purple star would offer more color contrast, but I didn’t have the right purple in my stash. (The lone Lemoyne Star serves instead as back art.)

  

The project languished for almost two years. Determined to deliberate no longer, I purchased purple batik at my LQS, Loving Stitches, for border and binding. A stylized leaf edge to edge design is quilted in dark red thread which surprisingly blends well with the mottled magenta fabric.

Another UFO finished and another check mark for my Summer Projects List!

Actions

Information

5 responses

13 06 2017
Ronda

I agree. The star in the middle a bit distracting.love your colors and the final outcome.

14 06 2017
Maridee Hargis

I’m going to have to check into the ruler you mentioned. This is a pattern I’ve always wanted to tackle but have been waiting to take a workshop on it. No luck there but maybe her ruler can help me. I’ve used one of her other rulers and love it.

15 06 2017
Linda G

I have always loved this pattern! Perfect choice of fabric- batiks …..my favorite!!

15 06 2017
quiltingqueens

It turned out to be a beautiful quilt! Love the color too 👍🏻

15 06 2017
darladolinger

beautiful, love the colors.

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

Leave a Reply

