“Splendid Sampler” Finished!

7 07 2017

“Splendid Sampler” is quilted, bound, and labeled! I am excited that this long term project is finally complete, and I can check it off of my Summer Projects list. You can read more about this project by clicking here.

I selected an overall feather pantograph, “Double Plume” by Keryn Emmerson. This is my go-to design for quilts with a Civil War era feel. Choosing thread color, however, was a dilemma. The brown sashing is quite dark; in contrast, the tan block backgrounds are quite light. The paisley border is a busy neutral, and the backing is a sage green calico with tiny red flowers. A dark brown thread would scream against the light backgrounds while blending with the sashing and border. Conversely a tan thread would draw attention to itself on the dark sashing while blending nicely in the blocks and border. I found a muted sage green thread to be the happy medium. It shows the texture of the quilting design unobtrusively across all the fabrics.

I am enjoying such success in whittling down my pile of UFOs this summer, I was tempted to start a new project. (Does this ever happen in your sewing room?) More about the new project in my next blog post.

Actions

Information

5 responses

7 07 2017
Elaine

Your quilt is beautiful! Ann and I are working on UFO’s as well or trying too ;).

7 07 2017
Mary Ed Williams

What a lovely quilt! And I’m inspired to finish UFO’s. Hope I can hang on to that inspiration. Will ther be a quilt show at the gardens this year?

7 07 2017
Patti Hyder

Aby, it’s so gorgeous!

7 07 2017
quiltiferous

I love it! I’m so glad to hear that you are working on UFOs too! I want to finish all the things this summer!

10 07 2017
Brenda E.

I am still working on mine!

Leave a Reply

