Sarah’s Chevron Quilt

18 08 2017

Just wondering, do you save back issues of your quilting magazines? My grandmother did; she stored them in stacks under the guest room bed. When I was a teenager, I loved leafing through her Quilters Newsletters and imagining how I would color in the diagrams with fabric.

Here’s the story of another grandma, Anna, who saves her quilting magazines and encourages her granddaughter to translate quilt patterns into her favorite colors. The quilt shown here is based on my pattern, “Chevies on the Levee,” published in the September/October 2014 issue of McCall’s Quilting. Click here to see a picture of the original quilt.

Meet Sarah.  “I play travel volleyball, take piano, and I love to sew!  When I was five I made my first quilt with my grandmother.  I got tired of my old quilt so I set out to find a more modern design.  I was thinking about a chevron quilt, and my grandmother found one in your 2014 September/October Magazine!  I decided I wanted the colors aqua, coral, white and gray.  My grandmother cut the pieces and I sewed everything together.  We added a beautiful label to the backing and finally started to quilt.  It was my first time quilting a quilt all by myself!”

Please comment with encouraging words for Sarah:

 

Actions

Information

24 responses

18 08 2017
Mrs. Plum

Bravo, Sarah and Anna! And yes, I save most of my old quilting magazines.

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you and that is wonderful!

18 08 2017
stitchinggrandma

I love the idea that she needed something “modern” then picked a pattern from a 3 year old magazine !! I love this quilt because it IS bright, modern, yet has some open space! Nice finish for Sarah & Anna.

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you and I am also happy that I was able to use that magazine!

18 08 2017
Pam Bonstead

Sarah, your color choices are striking and on trend. Your work is very good. So glad you shared! ☺️

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you and I am so excited that I shared this too! These are also my favorite colors!

18 08 2017
Jennifer Johnston

What an accomplishment for a young lady busy with high school! I love your color choices Sarah! Well done!

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you! Fun fact: I am actually going into the 7th grade!

19 08 2017
Liz Horgan

Beautiful quilt Sarah! Keep on quilting!

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you!

19 08 2017
Pamela Arbour

Congratulations, Sarah! You did a good job on your quilt. I think that no matter what you do in life, you will always be a quilter!

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you and yes I will!

19 08 2017
Trinity

How fun! I love that Sarah is spending time with her grandmother and making not only a beautiful quilt but wonderful memories!

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you and we did have a wonderful time!

19 08 2017
Heather

You took a pattern and made it your own! Keep up the creativity!

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you and I will keep it up!

19 08 2017
stephanie woodward

How wonderful to be adding to your quilting knowledge, and building a deep relationship with your grandmother. Your quilt is wonderful.

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you and I have had a great bonding experience with my grandmother!

19 08 2017
Rochelle Summers

Fantastic to see you expressing yourself with your colors. Congratulations on completing this quilt.

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you!

20 08 2017
Carolyn Anderson

Congratulations to Sarah! You did a beautiful job and what a quilter you are! I may want to hire you to quilt my tops whenever you are ready. I know you had the very best mentor in your Grandma. She’s also one of the best! Carolyn Anderson

21 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you so much Carolyn! And yes, I did have the very best quilting mentor!

23 08 2017
Sarah Hollar

Thank you so much for putting me in your blog, Abby! I am so honored that you asked me to be in your blog! I will try to read your blog in my free time when I don’t have school work! Again, thank you so much!

23 08 2017
abydolinger

You are so very welcome, Sarah! I know you enjoyed reading the encouraging comments. I join in complimenting you. Not many young ladies your age demonstrate such patience and skill. Keep up the modifying of patterns, the piecing, and the longarming! In the future, feel free to send me pictures of your projects to share with blog readers.

Leave a Reply

