“Scrappy Patch” Published!

29 08 2017

I am very excited to tell you that my quilt, “Scrappy Patch,” was published in the October/November 2017 issue of McCall’s Quick Quilts!

My inspiration for this quilt originated with a Block of the Month challenge issued at my quilt guild. We were instructed to make totally scrappy “Aunt Sukey’s Choice” blocks with a white background. To speed construction along, I dove into my container of  2 1/2″ squares and my container of 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangles. Click here to read the blog post about my disappointment in not winning all the blocks submitted by guild members. But since I liked the idea of turning my scrap squares and rectangles into a quilt, I made eleven more blocks which resulted in a large lap quilt, 57″ x 71.” Click here to read about how I assembled a kit for each block during a car trip. And Click here to see a photo of the quilt and instructions for ordering a digital pattern from McCall’s. If you are not yet a subscriber to Quick Quilts, you can order a copy from  the online Quilt and Sew Shop.

After completing the blocks, I debated what color to use for sashing such a “wild” quilt. I felt a neutral or solid color would be best. Black would work, but might lend the finished quilt a somber air. I settled on white to add some modern “negative space” with the added bonus of a secondary “Nine Patch” pattern. I thought a black print would frame the quilt and help settle down the multitude of colorful prints. I found the black print with zigzag lime green lines in a quilt shop’s sale basket. Perfect! And I decided a coordinating lime green tonal would make a great inner border.

To repeat and accentuate the triangles in the quilt blocks, I overlaid some Prairie Points on the wide black border after quilting the quilt, enclosing the raw edges in the binding. The Quick Quilts magazine gives excellent, step-by-step instructions for making the 3-D Prairie Points. As you can see from the picture below, I folded back the triangles about 1/4″ and hand-tacked the Prairie Points to the border so they would lay nearly flat but still give a 3-D effect.

Using lime green thread, I free-hand quilted spirals over all the quilt. Alas and alack, I didn’t have enough of the same lime green print used in the inner border to bind the quilt, but I found another stashed lime tonal to conclude this very scrappy quilt!

Would you like to win a copy of the magazine? If so, leave a comment below stating if you would make this quilt totally scrappy or employ a limited color scheme. I’ll draw a winner on September 5.

 

Actions

Information

48 responses

29 08 2017
Pam Bonstead

I love the vibrant colors. I would also go with the Scrappy. Congratulations on another published quilt, Aby!

29 08 2017
abydolinger

Thank you, Pam, it was fun to use a lot of favorite bright scraps in this quilt.

29 08 2017
myquiltprojects

Congrats! The pattern is lovely! Not only would I love to make this quilt, but I would go one step further and make all my neutrals scrappy too. A hodgepodge of colors with oodles of netutrals!

30 08 2017
abydolinger

I actually did use several white on white fabrics, but fading white to ecru to light tan as you suggest would add to the scrappiness.

29 08 2017
Linda Christianson

I like scrappy with deep dark colors.

30 08 2017
abydolinger

Jewel tones would look really nice, wouldn’t they?

29 08 2017
Teri c

Maybe a limited range of scrappy colors. Love the prairie points in the border.

29 08 2017
Jennifer Johnston

Congratulations Aby on another published piece! If I made Scrappy Patch, I would choose a limited color palette.

29 08 2017
debbierhodes

I would probably start going scrappy and then my OCD would kick in and I would end up doing a controlled color !!

30 08 2017
abydolinger

That is funny, Debbie!

29 08 2017
Darlene B

I would go scrappy! Congrats on being published!

29 08 2017
Janet T

I need a pattern for a fall quilt, so I am visualizine browns, golds, fall colors. What do you think??

30 08 2017
abydolinger

I think a scrappy quilt in fall colors would look fantastic! Great idea!

29 08 2017
Kim

Love the quilt Aby 💜💚❤️💙

29 08 2017
Terry Johnson

Another great idea and winner. I would do scrappy maybe with light denim or a dark blue.

29 08 2017
Norma

I love your design! I would definitely go scrappy with this one. The white background makes those scrap fabrics sparkle like gem stones.

29 08 2017
Rochelle Summers

I love this scrappy version with all the bright colors. I think this would be the way I’d go.

30 08 2017
scrapster63

Great news, Aby! Congratulations on be9ng published yet again.

30 08 2017
stephanie woodward

I love the way you used your scraps, and I think I’d use the same variety. My quilts really look scrappy because I use different era’s of prints in them, For example Civil War, and 30’s prints. I guess I need to stop doing that, but the recipients of the quilts don’t seem to care.

30 08 2017
abydolinger

Great idea to use various styles of fabrics. The more you mix in, the less disjointed it will seem. Everything goes!

30 08 2017
Kathie L

I love scrappy quilts also.

30 08 2017
Ilse

As always, everything goes.
My personal preference would be what you did, only with a lighter border.

And not to forget, congratulations on your publishing success!

30 08 2017
abydolinger

You could even make a scrappy batik quilt, Ilse!

30 08 2017
Judy Bartran

I LOVE this quilt — particularly the border. This is a project I NEED to complete to use up fabric scraps. Congratulations on another great quilt, published, to share with other quilters!

30 08 2017
abydolinger

Thank you, Judy. If you remember, I worked on sewing some of these blocks while visiting you!

30 08 2017
Maridee Hargis

I really like this quilt and am always looking for ways to use my 2 1/2″ squares. (which seem to multiply when I’m not looking) I would definitely make it very scrappy.

30 08 2017
Liz Horgan

Beautiful quilt and congratulations!!
I think I’d definitely go scrapy!

30 08 2017
darladolinger

Congradulations, you are so creative Darla

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

30 08 2017
Kathy h

Beautiful quilt. I would probably use a limited color options. I like my scrappy quilts to coordinate a bit.

30 08 2017
Pamela R

Certainly a good way to use up the scrap squares I keep cutting with my Accuquilt. But I tend to prefer a more controlled palette. thanks for sharing as always

30 08 2017
Judy

Congratulations for having your quilt published. I would make mine scrappy.

30 08 2017
Chris

I would go totally scrappy but yours looks great. Wouldn’t it look wonderful in all reds or blues?

31 08 2017
abydolinger

It would! Great idea!

31 08 2017
Linda Osman

I totally agree in making this very scrappy. And prairie points (which i love to add to quilts) make such an unexpected embellishments.

31 08 2017
Trudy Keller

Love you quilt. I would make mine limited scrappy.

31 08 2017
Deana Bueley

So beautiful. I would use lilac/purple with a cream bacground

31 08 2017
annalutzbrown

Scrappy for sure …but both ways would be cool….. happyness04431@yahoo.com

31 08 2017
Susan

Love it. It’s perfect the way it is. I might try a Fall colouring…or maybe a scrappy black/white with a pop of red, or maybe a…OWWW.. too many options!

2 09 2017
abydolinger

Great ideas: Black, gray, and white with a pop of red would look stunning!

31 08 2017
Joyful Quilter

Congratulations on getting published! It’s a really cute quilt and I love the prairie point details.

1 09 2017
Janise

What a happy quilt!! I think this quilt pattern would look good in seasonal fabrics like Christmas, valentines, or spring…I might try that.

2 09 2017
abydolinger

A Christmas theme is a great idea! I have an entire box of Christmas scraps that should be put to good use.

1 09 2017
Ann Rushing

I love this quilt. I think I would try a block with a limited color palette to see how it looks. Of course I have plenty of scraps and fat quarters for a scrappy look!

1 09 2017
Elizabeth Smith

I would make a blue color scheme. I have fabric with the thin, 1/4 selvage from 20 years ago. Many shades & prints that I love. It would be lovely and soothing to the soul.

1 09 2017
Brenda E.

I would go controlled scrappy, limit myself to using either a main color for all or just in the nine patch blocks. I could see this mini sized too!

2 09 2017
Connie German

I love making scrappy quilts and love new ideas. thank you

2 09 2017
darladolinger

Congradulations Aby, on your being published in Quick Quilts.

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

2 09 2017
Janis Wyatt

That is a beautiful quilt. I’m very jealous of your talent of putting a pattern together without step by step instructions! Great job!

Leave a Reply

