3rd Quarter Challenge–Blog Reader Shares

30 09 2017

Believe it or not, 2017 is 3/4 gone! This year, I have challenged myself and blog readers to actually use those pretty packages of pre-cuts we’ve all been tempted to purchase.  In the first quarter  (Jan.-Mar.) we focused on fat quarters and quilter’s candy (2 1/2″ squares). Second quarter we focused on jelly-rolls (2 1/2″ strips). And third quarter’s challenge was using Layer Cakes (10″ squares). Click here to see my project from the Nordic Holiday line. I’ll teach this quilt at the Sew There! quilt shop in Angier, NC soon. If you live locally, call 919-331-2499 and sign up to join in the fun.

Friend and blog reader, Linda G., sent me several quilts to longarm, and they just happened to be made from Layer Cakes! First up is “Starburst” made with Halloween fabric. The pattern came from Jenny Doan’s Holiday Block Book, volume 3, issue 4. You can view a tutorial for Starburst on you tube; click here. For a quilting design, the Spider Web pantograph designed by Dave Hudson of patternman.com was the perfect choice. I considered using metallic silver thread so the spider webs would sparkle. However, I settled on gray thread thinking it would be more practical and durable for a sofa quilt. In my opinion, metallic silver would be great for a wall quilt.

Linda also made two twin size patriotic quilts for Christmas gifts. She ordered the Layer Cakes and border fabric from Missouri Star Quilt Company. The fabric line is “American Pride” by Timeless Treasures, and the border fabric is “Patriotic Words” from this line.  Jenny Doan calls this pattern her Double Slice Layer Cake. This random-looking design couldn’t be easier to make! If you need some quick quilt gifts for the holidays, Linda recommends this pattern. Let the fabric do the talking! Click here to view Jenny’s tutorial on you tube.

What about you? Have you make a Layer Cake quilt this year? If so, send me a picture to share with blog readers. (aby.quilts@gmail.com)

The 4th quarter challenge is using Charm Squares (5″ squares). On your mark, get ready, get set, go sew!

With special thanks to Aidan, my willing quilt holder!

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 09 2017
Maridee Hargis

Finally to the charm squares. I’ve been whittling away at my stash of those cute, irresistible packs. I didn’t own any layer cakes so I spent these last few months settling into our new home and finding other quilters in town.

30 09 2017
stephanie woodward

I love those charm squares, and I always need patterns. If I have the time I’ll try to complete the challenge too.

30 09 2017
darladolinger

What a beautiful quilt and Aidan also. Darla

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

Leave a Reply

