“I Spy” Placemats

20 10 2017

Several days ago during mealtime, my 16 month old grandson was sitting at the table pointing to the various squares on his quilted placemat and identifying colors and shapes in baby talk. His attention and interest gave me the idea of making “I Spy” placemats for both boys. I enlisted Aidan’s help with designing, i.e. placing the thirty-five 3″ squares in a grid of 5 x 7.

For the prints, I raided my container of “I Spy” fabrics and added in tonals of the colors (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple, black, and brown), cutting two of each. Aidan used a portable Olfa cutting mat/ironing surface as a design board. Once all the squares were in place, I easily transported the board to my sewing desk. Chain piecing the squares with Bonnie Hunter’s web technique kept everything in order, but Aidan was aghast. “Grandma, the placemat has holes in it!” Zoom in to see the bits of thread connecting the squares of row 1 to the squares of row 2, and so forth.

After pressing the seam allowances in the odd rows (1, 3, 5) to the right and the seam allowances in the even rows (2, 4) to the left, I sewed the rows together and pressed seam allowances to one side. I layered the patchwork with cotton batting and a large scale dinosaur print for backing and quilted a grid “in the ditch” with muted blue thread. Aidan asked for orange binding, and we plan yellow binding for David’s placemat. Incidentally, Aidan placed the prints and tonals differently for his brother’s placemat. The label on the back reads “Designed by Aidan . . . Quilted by Grandma Dolinger . . . October 2017.” Aidan and I are pleased with our projects, and I am dreaming up new “I Spy” games we can play at the breakfast table!

Click here to read a previous blog post about similar placemats designed by children.

 

 

Actions

Information

11 responses

20 10 2017
Pam Bonstead

I love this Aby! Makes my heart glad. What precious keepsakes and memories for your “littles!” And the placemats look great. Nice work team Aiden and Grandma!

20 10 2017
Pam Bonstead

Oh, and the sweet kitty looks like she’s contemplating pouncing on Aiden’s toes! Love each photo.

20 10 2017
Pam Bonstead

Me again….yummy, healthy breakfast, there, Aiden!

21 10 2017
Tricia

What a fabulous idea! I will be making a few of these. Thanks Aby

21 10 2017
Judy Bartran

What a great Grandma and grandchild project! That is a memory Aiden will not forget. I can see an adult Aiden looking at the placemat and remembering the day he made it his Grandma Dolinger.

21 10 2017
Judy Bartran

Oops! I misspelled Aidan. Sorry!!!

21 10 2017
Jennifer Johnston

Precious, the placemats and your helper!

21 10 2017
Kim

Awesome idea !!

Love it ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’œโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’™

Put Waldo on the next one ๐Ÿ˜œ!!

21 10 2017
stitchinggrandma

Fantastic way to get your little guys involved

21 10 2017
darladolinger

Great job Aidan, you and David will have a great time with those, design one for Johnny. love gg

Sent from my Galaxy Tabยฎ A

23 10 2017
My Sewful Retirement

Aby what a fantastic idea! Aidan is such a cutie ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

