A Sweet Finish

8 11 2017

As you know, I’ve been working on a “Four Point Star” quilt as a gift for my soon-expected grand niece. Over the weekend I carved out several hours of dedicated quilting time and achieved my goal of finishing the quilt.

Using Sew Fine! off-white thread, I free-handed ruffled spirals all over the quilt. Perhaps you can best see the design in the following close-up. It’s always a toss-up for thread color when the quilt fabrics are of such high contrast as the teal print and the off-whites are in this quilt. By using a thin, off-white thread, I minimized drawing attention to the quilting in the darker areas of the quilt. On the other hand, if I had chosen teal thread to blend with the star points and the border, it would really have stood out in the very light background and sashing areas. When in doubt, I generally match the thread to the background fabric.

Multi-colored striped fabric, also from the “Flower Mill” line, makes a dainty binding, don’t you think? My niece has seen a picture of the quilt and loves it, so it will be making the trip from my sewing room to the post office very soon.

Actions

Information

10 responses

8 11 2017
Pam Bonstead

Your quilting is beautiful and flows smoothly. Amazes me that you did it freehand. The border is precious. What a keepsake!

8 11 2017
Mary Ed Williams

What a delightful quilt. And what a lucky grandniece!

8 11 2017
quiltiferous

This quilt is so pretty and dainty! It will be just right for baby!

8 11 2017
Jennifer Johnston

Perfect Aby! I love the colors.

8 11 2017
Suzan

Just adorable! I love the pattern and colors. Would like to make one of these…

8 11 2017
Kim

Love the stars !

8 11 2017
Judy Bartran

Beautiful quilting on a beautiful quilt! Your niece will love it!

8 11 2017
Lori Brewer-Quiltingneeds.com

Beautiful.

8 11 2017
darladolinger

Abby, that quilt is beautiful, lots of love in it. Darla

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

12 11 2017
My Sewful Retirement

Aby, I love the pattern and the colors. Perfect for a baby girl

Leave a Reply

