“Gypsy Wife” Progress Report

20 06 2014

The “Gypsy Wife” quilt is taking shape on my design wall. By viewing Jen Kingwell’s “GW” quilt online and in her pattern booklet, I see that about ten large (12″) blocks are needed. So I’ve made several, some utilizing 6″ orphan blocks in the center.

GW - 3 blocks

Viewing the blocks from across the room, I realized that all three blocks have a large diamond motif. To add variety, I constructed several more blocks that lack the diamond shape.

GW more lg blocks

I also made more strip sets, using some narrower strips this time.

My dilemma is how to use the fabric most efficiently. I don’t want to run out of the fabrics I selected before I finish making the quilt! By making strip sets from width of fabric and constructing the large blocks first, I hope there will be enough remaining scraps to make the smaller blocks.

Gypsy wife, fabric

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

