“Table Tiles” QAL Progress

22 09 2014

 

Roman Stripe table runner

It’s Monday . . . and time for another blog post encouraging you to work on your “Table Tiles” table runner. This is a quick and easy project! Even if you haven’t started cutting and sewing, you will have plenty of time to finish your runner before the end of the Quilt-A-Long in late October.

Several QAL participants have commented to say they are making black, gray, and white table runners. The results are so sophisticated! Here’s a picture of Judy’s fabrics.

DSCN4652

As you know, for my QAL runner, I’m using scraps of fabric procured from a Kenyan dressmaker. I was able to strip piece and cross-cut some of my blocks.

DSCN6546

But other blocks were made one at a time in order to use up smaller scraps of fabric.

DSCN6548

Black thread is my choice for this project. When piecing, I recommend selecting a thread that will blend with most of the fabrics in your quilt.

For your “Table Tiles,” are you strip piecing, or making blocks one at a time? Is this your leader/ender project as you piece other quilts?

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 09 2014
Hope

Aby, I love, love love your story behind the fabric. Great minds think alike I suppose, Mary Elizabeth has been collecting African prints with each adventure and hopes to make a quilt whenever she returns from her adventures. I carried a bunch of them back when we visited her in May, oh… and purchased a few myself. Maybe I will surprise her with a Table Tiles Table Runner as well. 😉 Hope

2 10 2014
Crafty Ashley B

I’m slowly working on this project. I have about half the blocks cut out and the other half stripped pieced together! I changed up my color scheme and switch to pink and orange. For some reason I’m really drawn to the combo right now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

