Owl Tote Bag

20 02 2015

Invited to attend a baby shower tomorrow, I inquired on the planned nursery theme and colors. Pink, Gray, and White with an Owl theme was the reply. A cursory search in the stash yielded about a yard of an owl home-dec print (leftover from making my granddaughter a book bag several summers ago). Perfect colors and motif, and perfect fabric for a tote bag!

Owl bag, quilting

To make the home-dec print stiffer, I quilted it onto a piece of dense batting from the Warm Company, 70% cotton/30% polyester.

The instructions for making this basic tote bag are given in my “Unlimited Possibilities Tote Bag” pattern. You’ll find a link for this on my Patterns page.

Owl bag, lining

For the bag lining, I selected a mottled pink “sunrise” fabric that has been languishing in my stash, awaiting a worthy project. The owl print pocket is the perfect size for keys or cell phone. Modifying the instructions, I cut 4 1/4″ wide quilted strips to make the bag’s handles instead of covering 1″ wide nylon webbed strapping with fabric.

Owl bag, finished

This bag helps illustrate my word for the year, Celebrate. “Owl” celebrate the birth of a baby girl; welcome, little one!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 02 2015
Marie Krause

Cute! Cute! Cute!

21 02 2015
Jen Johnston

Darling Aby!

Leave a Reply

