Double Disappearing Nine Patch

15 08 2015

On Wednesday, August 12, I gave my “Cutting Up” lecture and a workshop to the Busy Bees in Fountain Inn, SC, near Greenville. In preparation for my lecture, I decided to make “one more” quilt constructed with an innovative cutting technique. I found this idea through FaveQuilts on Christina’s blog, “A Few Scraps.” Check out her post on August 15, 2011 for a great tutorial. You’ll see an alternate colorway and alternate block layout.

DSCN7533I imagine you’ve seen or heard of the Disappearing Nine Patch design which begins with a Nine Patch pieced from large squares. I cut sixteen 4 1/2″ squares from a fat quarter (owl print), sixteen 4 1/2″ squares from background fabric and four 4 1/2″ squares from a green print. After sewing the Nine Patches together, I cut the blocks in quarters.

 

 

DSCN7534I then used the Disappearing Nine Patch quarters in the corners of 4 giant Nine Patches. The quarters measured 6 1/4″ square, so I cut sixteen 6 1/4″ squares of background fabric and four squares of a multi-colored stripe (for the center squares of the giant Nine Patches). After sewing the 4 giant Nine Patches together, I cut them in quarters. I tried several arrangements of the blocks and settled on the layout pictured in the quilt below.

 

 DSCN7548

 If you’ve already made a Disappearing Nine Patch quilt, I D-Double-Dog-Dare you to make a Double Disappearing Nine Patch quilt!

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 08 2015
Mary Ed Williams

You’re on!!

17 08 2015
Jennifer Johnston

Very innovative Aby!!!

Leave a Reply

