Finished: “Flurry” and a Table Runner

As intimated in my previous post, I will be working the next several weeks to complete the quilt tops I assembled while retreating with quilting friends. I quilted two smaller projects this past weekend, and I’m happy to share them with you.

First up is “Flurry,” designed by Kate Spain. I persuaded my grandson to hold up the quilt so you can see it in its entirety.

The blocks in this fun quilt were exchanged among quilting friends last November. I used a medium gray thread which blends with the dark fabrics and shows up nicely on the white background. The pantograph is “Holiday Time” designed by Dave Hudson, and it includes motifs like stockings, mittens, trees, gingerbread men, bells, holly leaves, and snowmen. I plan to give the quilt to my great-grands; I think they will have lots of fun finding the camouflaged quilted designs.

A Disappearing Nine Path table runner is another project I can check off the to-do list. When my friend Karlene gave me a charm pack of patriotic fabrics, I knew immediately they would be perfect for a Disappearing Nine Patch runner. I made four Nine Patch blocks with the 5″ squares, placing reds in the centers, blues in the corners, and whites on the sides. This placement yielded the small red squares, large blue squares and white print rectangles I desired. (Click here to view a tutorial on making Disappearing Nine Patch blocks.)

I quilted freehand spirals in medium blue thread all over the runner and bound it with a star print from my stash.

It feels great to complete two projects, and now it’s “onward, forward” to the next WIP (work in progress). I’ll keep you posted!

7 thoughts on “Finished: “Flurry” and a Table Runner

  1. Wonderful finishes after a week well spent with friends. Your grandson is such a helper. I look forward to more of the quilts from that week.

  2. Pingback: UFO Accountability Check for March | abyquilts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.