“Crossroads” Quilt Finished

I first saw the “Crossroads” quilt a couple of years ago on Instagram and was captivated by its simplicity. The homey and uncomplicated appearance evidently also appeals to many quilters; take a look at other renditions by searching for #treehousecrossroadsquilt. The design originates from Treehouse Textiles, a shop in Victoria, Australia, but quilters all over the world have been inspired to recreate it.

Although some quilt-makers have selected bright, coordinated fabrics for “Crossroads,” I determined to include fabrics from an old suitcase I found in a closet under the stairs of my grandmother’s cottage, combining them with lesser-loved fabrics from my own stash. I wanted my “Crossroads” to exude a comfortable utilitarian vibe. Most of the fabrics are muted rather than bright, and some are medium in value.

The quilting is simple meandering with tan thread, and I pieced together odds and ends of binding leftover from other projects to complete the scrappy look. I imagine this is a quilt my husband’s grandmother would approve. She and her relatives made simple quilts, using fabric on hand, solely to keep the family warm on freezing winter nights in Virginia’s Appalachian Mountains.

Granny Dolinger’s utility quilt

I began working on “Crossroads” blocks for the quilt at a 2022 retreat and finished putting it all together during the 2024 retreat. I anticipate curling up under it to peruse a quilting magazine in front of a cozy fire in times to come. It’s the type of quilt to use on a picnic or to huddle under at a frosty sporting event. It’s the type of quilt you wouldn’t mind the grandkids using for a fort, and you wouldn’t even be upset if the dog or cat fell asleep on it occasionally. It’s the type of quilt to be enjoyed and used, like Granny’s quilt, until it is worn out.

7 thoughts on ““Crossroads” Quilt Finished

  1. Aby, you’re so right. This quilt has been on my to-do list for a while. I am trying to get some UFOs done before I start any new quilts, but maybe I’ll get to it in the 2025 rainbow scrap challenge. Your quilt looks great!

  2. I love the fabric choices for the crossroads quilt pattern you made, Aby. Together, (the fabric & pattern) reminds me of a map of a busy city with bustling areas / districts / neighborhoods within. Love it

  3. Together, the pattern & fabric choices, the finished quilt perfectly represents a bustling city map of the various districts/areas/neighborhoods/businesses within a metropolitan area Pretty neat

  4. Pingback: UFO Accountability Check for March | abyquilts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.