Trending – the Potato Chip Block

It’s all the rage among scrap-using quilters. Search for it on YouTube and Pinterest and you’ll see what I mean! Video by Brenda of “Conquering Mount Scrapmore with Brenda” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lyBtI2086I, and video by Ginger of “The Copycat Quilter” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ka5QjvXA4Eo

This patchwork block is a great way to use 2″ x 3″ or 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangles. Do you cut and save rectangles in these sizes? I have a container chock full of the 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ size and a baggie full of the smaller size. Either size can be cut from leftover jelly roll strips, 5″ charm squares, or 10″ layer cake squares.

Since my Checkerboard quilt is complete, I need a new scrappy quilt block for a leader and ender project. I choose the Potato Chip Block! Would you like to sew along with me this spring, turning our rectangles into blocks and our blocks into quilts? I’m planning to donate my quilt to a veteran as I’ve heard many of them prefer old-fashioned scrap quilts like their grandmothers made.

Basic Instructions: Sew two rectangles together. Then, with the seam placed vertically, sew one rectangle to the top and another to the bottom.

Sew together a pair of two rectangles and add one to each side of the unit made above.

Sew together another pair of two rectangles and add one to the top and one to the bottom of the unit.

Sew together two sets of three rectangles and add one to each side of the unit. Voila, your Potato Chip Block is complete.

Of the block arrangements I’ve seen, I prefer the look of alternating blocks having a dark outer ring with blocks having a light outer ring. So this is my plan!

Try making a Potato Chip Block. I bet you can’t make just one!

13 thoughts on “Trending – the Potato Chip Block

  1. Thank you for explaining how the potato chip block was done. Will make one this afternoon. Cannot believe how many 2 1/2 x 4 1/2 scraps I have cut.

    Marianne

    • If you make one block and store it with your rectangles, you’ll have an example of the design. (And you will want to make another block because they are so quick and easy! LOL)

  2. Oh, Aby – You’ve sent another squirrel my way!!! I’ve made 3 of these blocks today and have 6 more partially completed. I had a big pile of 2.5 by 4.5 rectangles cut and ready for a project. I’ll have a Project Linus quilt done in no time. Thanks for the idea?!? I have a graduation quilt and a retirement quilt I need to be working on.

    • Ha, ha. Isn’t it fun to use scraps already cut for the purpose of making a scrap quilt? You could piece the Potato Chip blocks as leaders and enders while piecing the gift quilts you are “supposed to be” working on.

  3. Thanks so much for this design. I have been looking for something similar for some easy quilts that are bright and happy for our quilts and placemats. I have several small drawers of pre-cuts that will be perfect. Looking forward to seeing you at your workshop. 

  4. Right now I am making Carol Thelan’s log cabin block with a LOT of 2.5″ squares (1200 of them!), but when that is done, I plan to do a potato chip quilt. I have a whole booklet of ways to put them together including a HUGE one block quilt like trip around the world!

    • Have fun making your Log Cabin scrappy quilt. And . . . I didn’t know there was an entire booklet on ways to put Potato Chip blocks together. Please share the publisher information.

  5. Pingback: Creative Juice #392 | ARHtistic License

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.