Checkerboard Finishes

My blue and “white” Checkerboard quilt is composed of 30 blocks each containing 36 squares. Since I had all of the fabric on hand, I think this qualifies as a “free quilt.” I used 2 1/2″ squares from my bin of scrap squares as well as 2 1/2″ strips from the strip container which I strip-pieced.

The diagonal arrangement of the dark and light squares of Checkerboard beg for straightline diagonal quilting, but I prefer using my longarm for quilts of this size, and curvy lines are much easier to execute than straight lines on longarm machines. I chose the “Happy Times” pantograph by Hermione Agee. The scale of the repetitive quilting motif is small enough to show well in the squares and add overall texture.

Keeping with the “free quilt” idea, I pieced the quilt backing from stash. I have long wanted to use the 2 yards of beautiful large-scale rose print. Since the yardage was not as wide as the quilt, I selected two coordinating blue prints and pieced them together. I separated these two major sections with a blue and ecru print, a cut-off from another quilt backing.

I am really enjoying decorating with and snuggling under this scrappy quilt. The finish is so satisfying I am tempted to make another Checkerboard quilt! Maybe I could tackle my bin of 3″ squares or perhaps my container of 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangles.

Are you working on a Checkerboard quilt this spring? My friend, Maridee, sent a picture of her quilt. She also used scrappy 2 1/2″ squares. Look closely to see several half square triangles mingling with the squares. I love the scrappy binding which perfectly completes this cheerful, colorful quilt.

When you finish your Checkerboard quilt, please send a picture to my email address: aby.quilts@gmail.com. I would love to show blog readers your quilt, spreading the enthusiasm for this simple yet classic quilt design.

9 thoughts on “Checkerboard Finishes

  1. A very beautiful quilt. I like how you made it blocks then pieces together How many squares across and down did you use please?

    • Thank you, Paulette. I made 30 blocks total (12″ finished), each containing 36 squares (18 blue and 18 neutral). Now I wish I had made 42 blocks because the quilt would have been queen size. 🙂

      • Thank you. It’s beautiful. I may try this with my scraps. I bet the size is perfect for the couch.

  2. Pingback: Creative Juice #391 | ARHtistic License

  3. Pingback: Checkerboards, Potato Chips, and BOMs – Blog Readers Share | abyquilts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.