“Tumalo Trail” Progress Report

28 12 2015

IMG_3717“Tumalo Trail” is the scrap quilt project I’m working on this winter. You can read about the beginning of this project here. This quilt, designed by Bonnie Hunter, works well as a Leader/Ender project. But I am not strictly sewing the pieces together only when I need Leaders/Enders. Sometimes I just want to sit a few minutes and sew something simple. The Half Square Triangles and scrappy Nine Patches are perfect for filling spare minutes in my sewing room.

I am happy to report that I’ve made 8 blocks so far. Since I plan a 16 block quilt, I’m half finished! Hitting the halfway mark motivates me to begin thinking about sashing fabric. The picture below shows off-white sashing. What do you think? The strips are the same shade as the light tone-on-tone used in the Half Square Triangles.

IMG_3748

Or, what about a light gray for sashing? I auditioned several light grays from my stash, and the one pictured below is my favorite. I think using gray adds a subtle shading that adds sophistication to this very scrappy quilt.

IMG_3749

What is your vote for sashing? Off-white or light gray? And what color cornerstones would you suggest?

Actions

Information

13 responses

28 12 2015
Mary

I like the white better than the gray. Try a dark color like dark green or blue or purple.

28 12 2015
Mary Ed Williams

Oh my, yet another quilt to lust after. I like the light gray but would put sashings only at the “top” of the cross and let the “X” meet. Is this making any sense? And now to dive into my stash…
Happy quilting in 2016!

28 12 2015
Karlyn

Ok I’m just wondering why any sashing at all? I think it might be kind of interesting to see it without sashing!
Karlyn

28 12 2015
Darlene B

Have you tried a darker color for sashing? Maybe a medium tone? I think it might add another design element to the pattern? I love this quilt!

28 12 2015
Marie K.

I prefer the gray given those choices and I would make the cornerstones colorful as they become part of the pattern. I would do them all different colors. However, I might try some bolder color for the Sashing strips as some of the other comments suggest. It is a wonderful quilt top.

28 12 2015
Jennifer Johnston

I vote for the gray! I think the white blends in more and i like the contrast the gray offers.

28 12 2015
Jennifer Johnston

How about purple cornerstones!

30 12 2015
Jennifer Johnston

Looking at it again…..now I prefer the blending in of the off white. Did I ever mention how indecisive I am??????

28 12 2015
Trinity

I don’t think it needs sashing.

28 12 2015
Kim

Love it !! Fun

28 12 2015
Brenda E.

I am surprised that the white is what appeals to me and using green or red for the cornerstones.

28 12 2015
Penny

Merry Christmas Aby, how about no sashing or a scrappy one….to me both would continue the movement in your great quilt. Have fun!

30 12 2015
Suzie Hardy

What about a light green?

Leave a Reply

