Piecing and Quilting at Lake Gaston

23 04 2017

Last week I visited my friend, Judy, in the Lake Gaston area of southern Virginia. We are participating in a block exchange with eleven other ladies who each promised to make 540 “Flying Geese” blocks, finishing at 2″ x 4,” by February 2018.

This is my first time using the Bloc Loc “Flying Geese” square up ruler. I love it; my blocks measure a perfect 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2.” Click here to read Rita Hodges’ (of Red Pepper Quilts) rave review of Bloc Loc rulers. Click here to see the Eleanor Burns’ method of making “Flying Geese.” Eleanor also makes a square up ruler which some of the exchange participants are using for “perfect” blocks.

Besides working on our “Flying Geese” blocks, chatting, and looking at quilt magazines, Judy and I hosted a longarm machine quilting workshop for her local longarm group on Monday. Judy invited the ladies and prepared lunch; my part was teaching the class. I shared my favorite freehand designs for edge to edge, blocks, and borders. We talked about pantographs as well as longarm quilters who inspire us.

On Wednesday I shared my trunk show, “It’s Not About the Quilts,” with the Lake Gaston Piecemakers. This is a large collection of friendship quilts I have acquired over the 29-plus years of Army travels. Signature quilts, farewell quilts, block exchanges, group blocks of the month, round robins, and group projects have all found their way into my collection. It was a joy to share my quilts and my memories of special quilting friends with the Piecemakers!

Actions

Information

4 responses

23 04 2017
Ronda

It looks and sounds like you had a great time. Thanks for the tip in the block lock ruler. They even have it for HST yay! May need to be in my next purchase.

23 04 2017
stitchinggrandma

I’ve use the ruler sold by Quilt in A Day for Flying Geese, but find it “limiting”. I have done several other methods, including Bonnie Hunter’s Easy Angle/Companion Angle method. I “INVESTED” in Jodi Barrows Square in a Square book & rulers last year; and her “option 3” is for Flying Geese. Currently working on a Bonnie Hunter pattern that requires over 400 FG, and I found that JBarrows method gives me fast accurate units. Happy to know there are over 100 different units that I can use the ruler for, so the investment will be worthwhile to me. 🙂 You have an amazing collection of quilts on those church pews.

23 04 2017
Tanya Hockensmith

So glad you’ve picked up on the Bloc Loc rulers, too. I love using them! Looks like fun with all you did during your visit. Congratulations on the house, too! Happy quilting!

23 04 2017
darladolinger

All very lovely. Darla

Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

Leave a Reply

